Our Battle With Allstate Over Our Racked House

Use this forum to discuss storm or hurricane matters.

Our Battle With Allstate Over Our Racked House

Unread postby mhoman » Fri May 19, 2006 1:04 pm

I am a Theology Professor at Xavier University of Louisiana, and recently Allstate called me a liar. I didn't appreciate that much. Our New Orleans' house was severely racked by the winds of Hurricane Katrina on August 29th, 2005. I was in the house during the storm and it was like being on a large boat rocking back and forth. After the winds died down, the house leaned quite a bit to the SSW. Thankfully I have video tape of the severe winds, because on May 4th, more than 8 months after we filed our claim, we learned that Allstate was denying our claim. Their decision was based on a report by Haag Engineering out of Dallas. This report actually claims that it wasn't windy enough to rack houses during the hurricane, and they say our house was leaning like that before the storm. It also refers to our house as "the Wilson house" showing that Haag Engineering is recommending the denial of several similar claims. Oh, how I would love to meet these Wilsons ... I would call every Wilson in the phone book, but unfortunately, hardly anyone in New Orleans has the same phone number as before the flood. The report also says that the flood waters didn't cause structural damage because our 100-year-old floorboards are in OK condition. My family and I have extensively documented with a journal the hundreds of unreturned calls we made with Allstate, and the difficulty we had in just getting an adjustor to see the risk. We have also documented extensively with pictures and video that the house was straight before the storm, and severely leaning now. So now we're fighting back. I filed a lengthy and well documented complaint with the Insurance Commissioner in Louisiana. We're in the process of selecting an attorney to handle our bad faith claim in court, and also I'm getting politically